Victoria Smashers 9-year reign of National Titles at Ede Clendinnen Shield comes to an end

Today marks a very special milestone for our Victorian badminton community.

Firstly, congratulations to our Victoria Strikers senior state team on winning the Division 2 competition of the 2022 Ede Clendinnen Shield (Team event of the YONEX Australian National Championships).

And finally, our senior state team, the Victoria Smashers, has done very well to reach the Division 1 finals against tough opponents, Queensland. However, after a fight to the last point, the Victoria Smashers had their reign of national titles come to a close, being defeated 2-3. Congratulations Queensland on winning their first National title at the Ede Clendinnen Shield ever! And congratulations to our 2022 Victoria Smashers on the great effort to defend the title.

While defeated this time around, we wish to acknowledge all the players who contributed to the previous 9 consecutive Championship Titles for Victoria at the Ede Clendinnen Shield! Thanks to all the Victoria Smashers players of past and present who have helped us achieve the momentous result over the 9-year reign:

  1. Gobinathan, Ashwant (2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020)
  2. Ma, Louisa (2013, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020)
  3. Slee, Ann-Louise (2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2019)
  4. Hanratty, Grace (2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020)
  5. Findlay, Joel (2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2017)
  6. Lai, Joy (2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018)
  7. Somerville, Gronya (2016, 2017, 2019, 2020)
  8. Chong, Luke (2012, 2013, 2014, 2020)
  9. Chau, Matthew (2016, 2017, 2018, 2019)
  10. Azam, Rizwan (2014, 2015, 2016, 2017)
  11. Mak, Vinning (2013, 2014, 2015, 2017)
  12. Jiang, Yingzi Jenny (2018, 2019, 2020)
  13. Schueler, Jacob (2018, 2019, 2020)
  14. Yan, Peter (2018, 2019, 2020)
  15. Vuong, Eric (2015, 2018, 2019)
  16. Wu, Alice (2014, 2015, 2016)
  17. Oon, Nelson (2012, 2013, 2014)
  18. Choo, Kenneth (2018, 2019)
  19. Thomas, Tom (2016, 2018)
  20. Serasinghe, Sawan (2016, 2017)
  21. Chang, Anthony (2012, 2014)
  22. Sharp, Natasha (2012, 2013)
  23. Ea, Kaitlyn (2020)
  24. Khoo, Lee-Yen (2020)
  25. Lim, Ming Chuen (2020)
  26. Tang, Nathan (2020)
  27. Guo, Susan (2018)
  28. Lim, Lauren (2018)
  29. Shu, Jiali (2018)
  30. Serasinghe, Ruwindi (2017)
  31. Tho, Jeffrey (2017)
  32. Middleton, Robin (2016)
  33. Rueslie, Thomas (2015)
  34. Archibald, Fiona (2014)
  35. Luk, Edwin (2014)
  36. Berry, Tegan (2013)
  37. Booley, Craig (2013)
  38. Chew, Hu Wen (2012)
  39. Chong, Vee Vian (2012)
  40. David, Nathan (2012)
  41. Lee, Joo Yiet (2012)
  42. Pham, Van (2012)
  43. Pilven, Tara (2012)

For the full list of Victoria Smasher Championship Teams of our 9-year reign at Ede Clendinnen Shield events, see below:

Australian National Badminton Championships in Bendigo for 2022

After two years, the Australian National Championships are back. Australia’s best badminton players will be vying for the title of National Champions and for a spot on the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games Team.

The Championships will be held in Bendigo, Victoria from Sunday 10th April through to Friday 15th April 2022 at the Bendigo Eaglehawk Badminton Stadium.

For the full announcement and entry information for players and spectators, visit the Badminton Australia website here.

For clarification of eligible players living in Victoria, Australia, please see our Tournament Alert! email here.

New Badminton Victoria Senior State Performance Program

Badminton Victoria is excited to announce the start of the new Badminton Victoria Senior State Performance program. Today marked the launch of the program with the following players selected for the program:



Gronya Somerville (Play Badminton)

Sydney Go (HP Badminton)

Yingzi “Jenny” Jiang (Australian Badminton Training Centre)

Louisa Ma (Badminton Academy of Victoria)

Grace Hanratty (HP Badminton)

Lee-Yen Khoo (Melbourne University Badminton Club)

Susan Guo (Monash University Badminton Club)

Joyce Choong (2G Sports Badminton)


Ming Chuen Lim (2G Sports Badminton)

Nathan Tang (Glen Waverley Badminton Club)

Athi Selladurai (Infinity Badminton Association)

Jacob Schueler (Ocean Grove Badminton Club)

Ashwant Gobinathan (Badminton Academy of Victoria)

Kenneth Choo (Monash University Badminton Club)

Kayson Goh (Pro Badminton Academy)

Daniel Hocking (Ballarat Badminton Association)

Peter Yan (Glen Waverley Badminton Club)



Senior State Squad Coach

Jeff Tho (Play Badminton) has been appointed as Senior State Squad Coach and will be leading the Senior State Squad program. The squad will bring together BV’s elite senior players 2 to 3 times per week in the early mornings with the aim to create a high-level training environment and a culture of excellence as Victoria seeks to build on its on-court performances and successes from the past.

Jeff Tho is a former Commonwealth Games representative (2010, 2014) and won the Gold Medal in Men’s Singles at the 2014 Oceania Championships. Jeff was recently appointed as the Badminton Australia National Senior Coach and will compliment that part time role with his new role as the BV Senior Head Coach. TJ Weistra, BV Executive General Manager, said “we are delighted with Jeff’s appointment and the experience that Jeff will bring to the role. Based on his previous playing career, coaching experience and new role with Badminton Australia, he already has a strong established relationship with many of the players that will form part of the new squad and I can’t wait to see the results of the new program and Jeff’s leadership.”

Jeff said “I’m very happy to be involved in the first Senior State Squad that will allow Victoria’s best players to train together in an environment that is conducive of development and professionalism. I’m excited about what we can achieve and the systems that we can set up for high performance at Badminton Victoria.”

Clubs, players and coaches who are seeking further information about the new program should contact the BV Executive General Manager by emailing